Sunset over green grassy hill with rocks and oak trees

Measure Q Expenditure Oversight Committee


The Measure Q Expenditure Oversight Committee (MQEOC) is an independent advisory committee of citizens created to review the expenditures authorized by Santa Clara County Open Space Authority Parcel Tax, Measure Q.

The MQEOC consists of seven members. The seven members are at-large and appointed by the Board as required by the Expenditure Plan. Members are required to be residents within the Authority's jurisdiction.

The Committee’s roles and responsibilities, as defined by the Expenditure Plan, are to:


The Committee does not oversee any other Authority financial information nor do they set policy or provide input or direction on projects, budgets, work plans or financial matters pertaining to other Authority funds. All actions, including decisions about selecting projects for funding, are made by the Board in public meetings in compliance with the Brown Act.


The Measure Q Expenditure Oversight Committee meetings are held up to four times a year as needed.

For information on upcoming meetings or to search for past meetings, visit our interactive portal.
Public Meeting Portal


The Open Space Authority will host all public meetings virtually until further notice.

Public Meeting Portal 

Interested in volunteering with the open space authority?

The Open Space Authority is looking for individuals with a knack for numbers and a passion for connecting people to nature to come play a part in providing public oversight for the funds that positively impact your communities.

MQEOC Application

MQEOC Vacancy Announcement Flyer

People interested in being considered for the MQEOC should submit a completed application, include a cover letter describing your qualifications for the position of interest and why you are interested in serving on the MQEOC, and any additional information about your experience to the Authority's Office at 33 Las Colinas Lane, San Jose, CA 95119. More information can be obtained by contacting the Authority via email or by calling 408-224-7476.

To be eligible for consideration, prospective committee members shall be a resident within the Authority’s jurisdiction who are neither elected officials of any government, nor employees from any agency or organization that directly benefits financially from the proceeds of the parcel tax.  Members cannot be members of the Authority Board of Directors, the Authority’s Citizens’ Advisory Committee, or be a member of paid staff (regular, temporary, or seasonal). Members of the MQEOC are required to file an annual Statement of Economic Interest Form (Form 700). 


Committee Members

Andrea Wheeler (Vice-Chairperson)
Term: 01/01/2020 – 12/31/2023

David Burckhard
Term: 01/01/2018 to 12/31/2021

Hugh Graham
Term: 01/01/2020 – 12/31/2023

Jeff Micko
Term: 01/01/2020 – 12/31/2023 


Michael Smith
Term: 01/01/2018 to 12/31/2021

Susan Skorey (Chairperson)
Term: 01/01/2018 to 12/31/2021

Term: 01/01/2020 to 12/31/2023